Tuesday Tease: The Boy Friend

This week, I feature and excerpt from the Boy Friend by the incredible Mika Jolie, author of the Martha’s Way series.

TBF Amazon.jpgI’ve found someone I can trust. Coriander is my human diary, and there’s some attraction there, too. But what now?
It is important to proceed with care and take a moment to consider the pros and cons of taking our relationship to the next level.
CONS:
 Are you willing to make the sacrifice? It’s always the number one concern when anyone considers dating a friend
 what if it doesn’t last? If we break up, we might have to accept that our friendship might be lost forever.
PROS:
 But then again, I’ve known her all of my life. We have a history, been through a lot together.
 Our connection is strong. Nothing can go wrong, right?

I want her.

She wants me.

Just not enough. Actually, she’s smart. We’re a bad idea. I’m well aware of that, except I like bad ideas. Exhaling, I scrub a hand over my face. This unrequited desire needs to be tucked away. I should have put an end to these crazy thoughts from the beginning, but I entertained them . . . like a playful pet. Now, my desire has grown into a ferocious animal.

Acceptance is key here. I need to accept that I’m the boy friend, without the perks, and move on. No need for unnecessary tension. Our circle is tight. Attraction, lust, are part of the human flesh. These wild horses of my mind must be tracked down, captured, and tucked away in the Do-Not- Touch Cori file.

***

Mika Jolie lives in New Jersey with her Happy Chaos—her husband and their energizer bunnies. A sports fanatic and a wine aficionado, she’s determined to balance it all and still write about life experiences and matters of the heart. Let’s face it, people are complicated and love can be messy. When she’s not weaving life and romance into evocative tales, you can find her on a hiking adventure, apple picking, or whatever her three men can conjure up.

***

Website: http://www.mikajolie.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/mikajolie.author/?ref=hl
Twitter: https://twitter.com/MikaJolie1
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8294433.Mika_Jolie
Amazon: http://amazon.com/author/mikajolie

 

Author: authormilligib

Stay-at-home Mom (The most important job I'll ever have) and author, occasional photographer.

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Tease: The Boy Friend”

Leave a Reply

