Sunday Sit-Down: Lynn Miller

It’s that time again! This time, I’m introducing you all to the wonderful Lynn Miller. The Sons of Rebellion, her debut series, tells the story of a family of fallen angels and their struggles balancing a personal and professional life with battling demons.

 

MG: How do you relax?
LM: Haha! I’m a writer, so sitting and doing nothing, is not really a form of relaxation. My mind is always working. I scrapbook when I need my mind to focus on something other than writing or responsibilities. Facebook games are good too. But I must admit, most of the time I’m trying to figure out how to get things from my head onto my screen. I think it’s a writer’s curse, that the idea of being truly relaxed means having your mind wandering all over the place.

MG: What genre do you consider your books? Have you considered writing in another genre?
LM: Uhm. Well. It’s labeled Paranormal Romance. Although sometimes it feels like an Urban Fantasy Family Drama with some Romance elements thrown in. The challenge for me is sticking to the Romance while still maintaining the over-all story arc, which is about a family. I have two Urban Fantasies planned, set in the same world. Then I have a military drama which has been in my head for about ten years and an MG/YA boarding school series that I haven’t been able to shake for nearly twenty years. So hopefully I get to work on those, too.

MG: What would you say are the main advantages and disadvantages of self-publishing against being published or the other way around?
LM: Oh, the control definitely. As an indie author, I have given so much thought as to how I want to brand myself. What my cover styling would be? Which editors to work with. These are all things that I can control. On the flipside, I have no idea where to begin. With traditional publishers, while you don’t have much say in these things, the publishers do have a staff of professionals that know what they’re doing. As an indie author, it is so much more than just writing.

MG: Do you aim for a set amount of words/pages per day?
LM: No. If I put my mind to it, I can muster about a thousand words per day, but can only do that for two or three days in succession than I hit a wall for about a month. My aim is to at least write a sentence. Sometimes that builds into a two thousand word marathon. Some days, it’s only that sentence. I am at my most productive when I aim small, and take little chunks out of my day to write a paragraph or two.

MG: What do you love most about the writing process?
LM: You know those conversations you have in the shower, where think of all the things you should’ve said in an argument but just didn’t think of at the time. I love that I can turn those thoughts into real conversations. Play it out, so to speak. It’s good therapy.

*****

Lynn Miller lives in Johannesburg, South Africa. Her love for storytelling started before she was able read or write but she only found the time to pursue this lifelong passion once she sold her software business. Her magical tales weave the blurred grey between good and evil with love, family and friendship.

When she’s not writing, you can find her curled up with a cup of coffee and her kindle. She has always enjoyed both Romance and Urban Fantasy, and she writes in the genre that encompasses both: Paranormal Romance.  She’s an outdoorsy city girl – comfortable at a campsite with her family or enjoying cocktails with her girlfriends.

You can follow Lynn on Twitter: Twitter: @lynnmillerfic

Author: authormilligib

Stay-at-home Mom (The most important job I'll ever have) and author, occasional photographer.

Leave a Reply

