Sunday Sit-Down: Bren Kyveli

It rhymes with “sky deli”. I normally post on Sundays, but yesterday was a versy special day to me, and one that I old near and dear. I couldn’t let the light of one post over-shadow the other, so Ms. Kyveli was gracious enough to have her interview today instead of the typical Sunday. With that in mind, let’s have a seat with Bren, and see what she has to say about being an author!

 

MG 02.jpg I always like to ask – do you read much, and who are your favorite authors?
bk.jpg I read all the time, usually two or three books at a time. James Rollins is my favorite; in fact, I’m such a fan girl, I can’t even bring myself to reply to his tweets. But I pretty much read everything across all genres–well, except sci-fi and fantasy. I enjoy watching them, but don’t have the patience reading them.

MG 02.jpg Personally, with sci-fi and fantasy, I find the covers too busy to get past, so I never even bother to pick them up. Tell me – is being a writer a gift or a curse?
bk.jpg Both. It’s a gift because not many people can perform the magic of taking their imagination and putting it in the hands of others in a tangible form. And really, that’t exactly what writing is – magic. It’s cathartic, therapeutic, it fills the holes in one’s soul. But it’s also a curse because like any good magic, it’s very addicting. If I don’t write for a few days, I get antsy and irritable and a bit depressed. Then I’m almost compelled to write regardless of life’s obligations. So writing is definitely both a gift and a curse.

MG 02.jpg I know the feeling of it being both curse and gift. Do you remember the first story you ever wrote?
bk.jpg I do. I still have it, actually.
I was always in the mindset that I hate writing, even though I’ve always kept a journal, talkint to myself and working out emotional issues. But real writing was something you had to do for college; it was nothing but regurgitating shit that a dozen other people with initials after their names already wrote a dozen other times.
But a few years ago, my hubs was on yet another deployment, I had a 5 month old kid with not a drop of kid experience under my belt (seriously, my own kid was the first diaper I changed in my whole 28 years), no physical family support – they were all at least a couple thousand miles away, and I was on a string of about five shitty books in a row.
Suddenly, the journal entry changed. It wasn’t me bitching to myself. Characters started emerging, and they were the ones dealing wtiht he loneliness, the isolation, the maddening horniness, the stress of being a new mom… all of it.
That night, I couldn’t write in the journal fast enough; I wrote until there we tears pouring from my eyes and I was laughin maniacally at the same time. If anyone saw me that night, I would’ve been locked in the psych ward. I wrote and wrote until I fell asleep on my journal, and slept the two hours before dawn when the kiddo woke me up.
The next day, I felt like a whole new person, like I really could take on the world. I felt like me again.
So I read the story and was completely surprised to see a story like that came from my fingers. My mom convinced me to type it up and submit it somewhere, so I did. Drummed up my courage, typed it up, edited it to the best my little novice mind could, and put it on the internet.
Literally almost threw up when I hit the submit button.
But within a day, I got feedback saying things like, “Wow! This can’t be the first thing you’ve ever written, this was amazing,” and “I could see everything and feel every one of her emotions, I couldn’t stop reading, even though I was crying my eyes out,” and “Miss Kyveli, I teach college creative writing classes, and this was better than some of my advanced students’ work.”
I was hooked from then on. Not on the praise, but on the way writing gave me a way to expel stress and all the negative energy roiling inside.

MG 02.jpg Wow. That’s incredible! Now that we’ve learned how you got started writing, tell me a bit about your process – how do you brainstorm story ideas?
bk.jpg I’m a plantster, so I make a list of all the things I want in the story, write down what type of ending I want – happily ever after/happy for now/cliffhanger/question/etc. Then after that, I let my Muses just kind of take over.

MG 02.jpg Oh, the muses. They’re a special lot. But they get us to the end, often despite their crazy antics. Speaking of the end, do you have any advice for other authors on how to market their books?
bk.jpg From what I’ve seen from other indie authors, and even big name authors, it’s simply flood your social media feed with chatter about the struggles of this vice or the difficulties of that character, then once it’s ready for the world, just keep reminding people about it. People have short memories, and even shorter attention spans.

MG 02.jpg Phew! Good to know that’s about what I do already! Thanks, again, to the amazing Bren Kyveli! That’s all the time we have for this week, but stay tuned for more author interviews in the weeks to come!

***

Bren Kyveli is a stay at home mom of a spirited three year old little girl and a couple of rescued mutts. She’s been happily married to her highschool sweetheart since 2005. She’s had a deep love for the written word since she was a toddler; reading everything she could get her hands on and always writing in fancy journals with pretty pens. Bren writes contemporary Romance, Erotica and drama in the hours left at the end of the day when her house has gone to sleep.

You can find additional stories and poems at thepolkadotcoffeecup.com (https://thepolkadotcoffeecup.com), or follow her on Twitter at @AuthorBKyveli (https://twitter.com/AuthorBKyveli) and if you’re really brave you can check out her Muses at work on Pinterest (https://www.pinterest.com/brenkyveli30)

Author: authormilligib

Stay-at-home Mom (The most important job I'll ever have) and author, occasional photographer.

Leave a Reply

