Sunday Sitdown: Anna W. Aden

It’s that time again! Another interview, this time with romance author Anna W. Aden!

MG: Most authors I’ve had the privilege to interview read outside their genre, and I’m assuming you’re no different. What other genres do you read?

AWA: Right now I’m in a the middle of a memoir-read-a-ton. I’m reading Frederick Forsyth’s ‘The outsider: my life in intrigue’ which is haunting because of his time in an African civil war and the treatment of children in war zones – there is a particular harrowing scene which stays with me today. He is an exceptional writer. Next on my list are Bert Reynolds’ Enough About Me and Chrissie Hynde’s Reckless. I even have Z by Zayn Malik (ex One Direction member) which is more of a picture book. I was just curious about what he had to say, and thought it might help with a YA or new adult romance research.

MG: Do you proofread/edit all your own books or do you get someone to do that for you?

AWA: No because I’ll probably overlook lots of mistakes. Right now, Sister Dearest has volunteered to do it for a wee fee. She is a voracious historical romance reader and does professional proofreading so I’m lucky there. However if she’s too busy, I’ll just get someone else.

MG: What is the hardest thing about writing?

AWA: Making up surprises, twists and cliffhangers. I find those hard to do though they can bring some satisfaction to a reader, and I admired writers who do this with their stories. I don’t mean cheating or random twists where a writer has a random alligator crash through the ceiling, I mean good solid ones that have been methodically worked in into the plot and when it comes it would be like ‘Wow, I didn’t see that coming and yet I did.’

MG: What are your thoughts on good/bad reviews?

AWA: I’ve also had mixed reviews since I started writing. Even from writing tutors – some would just write banal comments. Then again, I write urban romance (street lit) so I’m used to the scrutiny and criticism that comes with the genre.

So while it’s nice to get good reviews, bad ones aren’t the end of the world.  With that said, some bad online reviews are interesting especially the random ones like ‘I didn’t like the hero’s hair cut so did not finish,’ or a classic amazon one ‘The paper quality was so bad had to return/ I hate reading on Kindle.’  I mean what does that have to do with the book? Really?

MG: Do you think that the cover plays an important part in the buying process? 

AWA: Yes, yes and oh my gosh, yes! I confess I’ve chosen or eliminated books based on their covers. A cover’s style can give a sense of what the books is about – sexy, mysterious, sweet, intrigue etc. It’s quite funny we say ‘don’t judge a book by its cover’ but we do! We are visual creatures so I guess covers do play an important part in that.

***

Anna W Aden lives in the UK. She also blogs and writes under the pseudonym Biggaletta “Bigga” Day. She is a self confessed cake-aholic who loves a bargain in the sales, discovering London’s open green spaces, the occasional music concert, and libraries.

And once in awhile she catches up on reality and Youtube shows.

Blog: https://applesandpeanuts.wordpress.com

Author: authormilligib

Stay-at-home Mom (The most important job I'll ever have) and author, occasional photographer.

Leave a Reply

