Sunday Sit-Down: Trin Carl

This past week, I interviewed Young Adult author, Trin Carl, who enjoys the seasons as much as I do!trin

 

MG: Let’s start at the beginning, shall we? The first book I ever read was called “The Skittles Book of Opposites”. I was disappointed it had nothing to do with the candy. Do you remember the first story you ever read, and the impact it had on you?

TC: The first story I ever read was “The Gingerbread Man.” (laughs to self) I remember the illustrations and the story so well.  I remember how words had such great meaning at only seven years old.

MG: Now that you’re an adult and can read what you want, when you want, and how you want… which medium do you prefer—e-books, audiobooks or traditional paper/hard back books?

TC: I prefer hard books for the way you can page through them so easily.  But for convenience I read e-books.  I also love audiobooks.  Thank God for one-click digital and overdrive that has made my audio book experience so great.  Audiobooks make things hands free and enable me to do chores or drive while simultaneously enjoying great authors.  One of my favorite audio narrators is C.J. Critt who has narrated many of Janet Evanovich’s novels.

MG: I, too, am a multi-medium reader. One-click is not my friend. My finger slips on it far more often than it should, even if it is only feeding the dream. Speaking of dreams… What are your ambitions for your writing career?

TC: I plan on publishing my YA novella  “Oh Brother” and a couple other novels in the future.  I would really like to provide new material to the genre of Young adult fiction and provide stories that children can relate to, especially challenges from a young adult POV.

MG: Sounds like you’ve got your plate full of projects! As long as we’re on the subject of projects, what is your writing process like? How do you brainstorm your ideas?

TC: I use writing prompts to inspire my writing.  I could write a two page story based on a prompt like “John Whistles” or “Kermit the Frog murmurs softly.” I also tend to write spontaneously.  When an idea comes to me, I’m jotting it down on my iphone or in a planner or napkin.  Most of my ideas come from books that I have read.  So the more books I read, the more ideas I have.  I tend to pick books that match my own tone of writing.

MG: I’m a sucker for prompts. I can’t not write them, even if they do just sit in my computer and go nowhere. The thing that probably challenges me most is proof reading and editing. Do you proofread/edit all your own books or do you get someone to do that for you?

TC: I’ve only began allowing others to edit my work in the past three years. I use scribophile, an online site which has many authors who edit my work. Having others edit my work has flourished my interest in writing.  I think it was Hemingway who strongly believed in the importance of peer editing and I believe that having other writers in your corner will only help you.

MG: Having others around to talk shop with and help find the typos and out-of-character moments for our characters is vital. We’re too close to the project to see our mistakes (and we do make them!) Thanks so much for sitting down with me today, Trin, and good luck with all your writing endeavors!

***

Trin Carl writes YA and Literary fiction.  She enjoys contemporary dancing and writing her blog theglobaldig on Blogger.  From Minnesota, Trin enjoys the outdoors and all the seasons, especially the fall as it reminds her of her days teaching and attending school at Metropolitan State University.  She can be contacted on twitter @theglobaldig

 

 

Author: authormilligib

Stay-at-home Mom (The most important job I'll ever have) and author, occasional photographer.

Leave a Reply

