Sunday Sit-Down: Ivy Nelson

Here it is, time for another Sunday Sit-Down with another fabulous author! This week, I’m featuring Ivy Nelson, who is currently working on her debut novel! Like me, Ivy writes romance.

MG: Do you live a romantic life?

IN: I like to think that I do! I just got married 5 months ago so I’m still a newly-wed. He’s very romantic and I enjoy doing things that make him smile. I think romance is something different for everyone which is why there is such a wide variety of romance novels out there.

MG: Congratulations on the recent nuptials! And I agree about the variety of sub-genres. I know a lot of authors have “regular” jobs, and you’ve also got the hubby to entertain, do you write full-time or part-time?

IN: I am writing full time. I gave up a job I only semi-enjoyed to move to Houston with my now husband. I had some trouble finding a job that I wanted and decided to just throw all of my energy into writing. I’m working hard on developing a marketing plan so that it will ultimately pay off.

MG: You just mentioned marketing. What part of your writing time do you devote to marketing your book?

IN: I consider writing time and marketing time separate. Because I haven’t published my first book yet, I am spending a couple of hours a day doing marketing research to help me develop a good launch plan. I do spend a lot of time trying to make connections on twitter and other social media platforms.

MG: When did you decide to become a writer?

IN: I’ve always wanted to write full time but I made the decision to focus all of my attention on writing about a year ago.

MG: Time for something kind of random. What is your favorite quote?

IN: My favorite quotes change from time to time. At the beginning of every year I create a work binder that has a different quote for each month. I also pick a quote for the year that goes on the front of my binder. This year’s quote is: “Work harder than you think you did yesterday.” It’s a reminder that I’m supposed to be focusing all of my effort and energy on my writing.

MG: I love that! I may have to steal that from you. And that concludes this week’s interview! Thanks so much for taking the time to chat!

***

Ivy is a 30 year old romance/erotica/mystery writer living in Houston, Texas with her husband. Ivy has been writing for as long as she can remember and read her first romance at the age of fourteen. You could say it was love at first site. Since then Ivy, has read anything she can get her hands on. While she has always loved writing, she let that hobby sit on the back burner while pursuing a degree in political science and higher education. The love for writing never left. In 2015, Ivy decided to give up her day job and focus on writing the type of thing she loves to read. Her first book will be available for purchase in the Fall of 2016. In her free time, Ivy enjoys cooking, travel, wine tasting and singing really old country music at karaoke bars.

http://www.Ivynelsonbooks.wordpress.com

https://twitter.com/Ivy_Nelson_

Author: authormilligib

Stay-at-home Mom (The most important job I'll ever have) and author, occasional photographer.

Leave a Reply

