Sunday Sit-Down: Julia Ward

I recently had the opportunity to “sit down” with romance author Julia Ward. Her current work in progress is Roadster Romance – something that I will be purchasing when it comes out – which promises to be a quirky story about a young widow restoring a 1919 Nash Roadster, 1922-nash-001 also involving a dog and some spicy food. Three of my favorite things! We talked about writing and publishing in depth. Here are a few of my favorite questions and answers!

MG: Which writers inspire you?

JW: Janet Evanovich (cleverness), James Patterson (prolific), Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett (awesomeness). Too many to name.. Patterson is my favorite to joke about. The man is a machine. So many books, so many genres. Every time I see a new Patterson book, which seems ridiculously frequent, I look to the sky, raise my fist and howl (a la Kirk in Star Trek: The Wrath of Khan) Paaaatterrrsoooooooonnnnnn!!! And then I saw it on Castle. Someone’s stalking me. Hahaha Like I’m the only one in awe of him.

MG: I’m in agreement on Patterson. How DOES he do it?! When you have time to sit down and read, do you prefer ye olde physical copy, or do you prefer those fancy new e-books?

JW: I love the convenience of reading ebooks on my phone wherever I am, except in the sun. When there’s sun, I like traditional books (though I’m rarely in the direct sunlight). And paperbacks because it feels like sacrilege to be rough on a hardback book. And I’m rough on books. I have an expanded (by bathwater) copy of a Terry Pratchett book.

MG: What are your views on social media for marketing?

JW: I think, if done correctly, it can be an effective way to get out there, but social media is hard for me. I’m very much a face to face person. I find it weird interacting with 50,000 of my “closest friends” but I get that some of our readers want a way to connect with us. I’m trying to meet you all, maybe not halfway but some of the way.

MG: Have you, or would you ever consider, using a PR agency?

JW: Eventually, I might hire a PR agency, of course, by the time I have the money to do that I’ll have a pretty good group of readers. Hmm. Maybe I’d hire someone on Fivrr or something to do some PR sooner.

MG: This is probably my favorite question to ask; is being a writer a gift or a curse?

JW: (laughing) Awesome! An excellent question. I spent my childhood in my own fantasy world. Drove my mom nuts because I was rarely seen, I was either in my room or out in the woods across the street, pretending. I had no idea this was because I made up stories. For me, it was a gift through some childhood difficulties. But somewhere along the way, I thought, I need to grow up. So I tried to force the stories out of my head. Tried to ignore them. I’d always end up going back to making them up again. It felt like a curse during that period of time. Now, for sure, it’s a gift. When I write romance, it boosts my oxytocin levels and makes me all lovey-dovey.

So, on the whole, totally a gift, a blessing. I’d be lost without the stories in my head.(Sometimes it’s quiet up there and it freaks me out a little.)

julia-ward-logo-box.png

Julia Ward is a Pacific Northwest native. During childhood she delighted in running with the family’s pack of dogs through the neighboring forest pretending so many adventures. More stories filled her head over the years with only a few making it to paper. Now, with kids grown with kids of their own, she looks forward to sharing her stories with others and hopes they’ll bring a little fun or love into someone’s life.

A variety of disparate jobs during her years has given her some interesting experiences and knowledge leading to the formation of some quirky characters.

Currently, her primary genre leans toward the romantic side but she also has works in progress that wander into the sci-fi as well as the paranormal realms.

She looks forward to getting to know her readers and hopes they enjoy her work.

You can find a little more about her at About.Me/JuliaWardAuthor

And some of her rambles (and perhaps a snippet or two) at halffastwriter.wordpress.com

Author: authormilligib

Stay-at-home Mom (The most important job I'll ever have) and author, occasional photographer.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Sit-Down: Julia Ward”

Leave a Reply

