Typo Happens

It all started with a fropping shoulder. Let me explain. It’s Tuesday, which means write-in night. We tend to have some rather fun typos, and we laugh about them, then post them on Twitter for all the world to see. Well…
Last week, I had nothing worth mentioning. Not a single thing. But today…
Today, I wrote, “He lifted one shoulder and let it frop.”
I giggled about it, then posted it on Twitter using the hashtags #amwriting and #TypoTuesday because each week, we post our typos and one of the workers at the game-shop we write at will (probably when he gets a full page of them) print them out and make a paper chain of them to go around the ceiling above the snack bar. (Shout out, by the way, to Your Mom’s Basement in Vadnais Heights, MN for creating a female friendly place for gaming.)

Let me elaborate more, however, on the typos today. The Typo gods held back on me last week. And then unloaded on me this week. And it all started with the fropping shoulder.
Next, it was, “She tuende and started to walk away, fausing to look over her shoulder.” Wait, what? Though not as bad as @Mreauow’s “She frocde hesrlef to rexal.” If you need a translation, it’s supposed to read, “she forced herself to relax.”
Then there was my line about male elves. “…he readied himelf for his shift at the factory.”
And then I couldn’t spell bra. I said it wrong on Twitter, but I was trying to type bra, but typed bar instead.
Then my FMC found a “…tip in the knee as she pulled her favorite jeans on.” Well, that’s lucrative!
Of course, it’s always great when you discover something. Like a new word.
“I jusst reasonized I’m writing a short prologeu.” I ‘reasonized’ I was spelling ‘realized’ wrong before I actually typed it. But do you think I could fix it before my fingers actually hit the keys? No. Not by a long shot. This was a tweet I was writing, just to comment I realized I was writing a short prologue for my short story that’s due in about 20 days to the publisher. Of course, me being me, I had to comment on my own post.
“No. I’m not drunk. Or high. Just can’t type todauay.”
And it didn’t even end there. I’ve had typos in this, just trying to get it out. They’ve all been pretty standard though. But then I had a conversation with someone in a Google chat. Let me enlighten you a little bit on that…
EP Beaumont said, “Fiction: the art of making problems for imaginary people.”
To which I replied, “Or the art of making up new words like ‘reasonized.’ There is context to that. I’ mhaving problems typing today.”
Our friend, Lev, replied, “is your keyboard betraying you?”
Me: “No. Buyt my fingers are. Sometimes they go fatest than my brains. I’m goijg to claim I just ype that fast and that’s y problem tonight”
Lev: “this is one of the problems I have with using voice dictation software. I type SO much faster.”
Me: “Yeah. It might be good for slower pieces where you’re working it out as you go, or just venting to tryinn to figure out a plit issue, but for actually ditating the story? I’ll type.”
Lev: “it’s not booze, booze is not your problem? :)”
Me: “No. No booze. Or drugs. Unless wated is a drug. water. I’d say I should give up for the night, but the idaeas are FLOWING man.!”

And then I quit writing my story to write this. Because damn it, I had to share this ridiculousness. Every author has problems with typing. One of my other friends, Sierra Kummings has a character named Luke in her current WIP, but she kept typing Luck instead. I giggled and thought of this: Luke Luck
Typos. They happen. And they multiply like rabbits. Really horny rabbits. (You don’t even want to know how many typos I edited out of this as I went, that weren’t ones I was highlighting.)
We now return you to your regularly scheduled programming.

Author: authormilligib

Stay-at-home Mom (The most important job I'll ever have) and author, occasional photographer.

Leave a Reply

