Wordplay Wednesday #6: Grandma

I wrote this one when my grandmother’s health began to fail, about ten years ago or so now. Both of my dad’s parents passed away in 2010.

Though you may not be around forever,
Please, I beg of you, always remember-
With a crooked smile and a laugh so sweet,
My Grandmother you will always be.
I’ll always remember those trips to the cabin,
All those gooey s’mores dripping into the fire,
And the leaves we raked up every fall.
And more recently, the times I missed up there.
I remember those hot Fourth of July’s
That we spent trying to learn to water-ski,
Getting dumped off the inner-tube,
And all the Saturday morning walks around the loop.
I’ll always remember the jar of agates we all helped create,
And all the steak, lasagna, and hamburgers we ate.
I’ll remember the fish I caught,
And the ones that caught me.
I’ll always remember the storms
That scared me when I was little,
And the rainy days we all played cards
And watched movies.

I remember all those birthdays with cake and ice cream,
And all those Christmas dinners.
I’ll remember all those Saturday nights
We all went over just because,
And the times I just dropped by to see how you’re doing.
I’ll remember the candy supply you keep in the closet,
And all the Christmas decorations in the attic.
I’ll remember the tree, always in the corner,
Always standing perfect by the fireplace.
I remember all the houses built of Lincoln Logs,
And the arguing over who got which car.
I remember using the HotWheels track,
Twisting it down the stairs and all over the basement.
I remember the stash of cookies left over after Christmas
That you left in the laundry room,
And all the games of hide and seek
Where I was always the first one found.

Though you may not be around forever,
Please, I beg of you, always remember-
With a crooked smile and a laugh so sweet,
My Grandmother you will always be.

Author: authormilligib

Stay-at-home Mom (The most important job I'll ever have) and author, occasional photographer.

Leave a Reply

