Wordplay Wednesday #4: Brightest Night

This one is my mother,
She’s black as darkest night.
That one is my father-
Sharp as starkest white.
But me, I’m both,
Somewhere between,
So as which color
Am I seen?
If black is wrong
And so is white,
Tell me then,
Can I ever be right?
I fight neither side
Of this ridiculous fight
For while I’m black,
I’m also white.
When one side wins,
The other will lose,
Do not make me
A side to choose.
This is a fight
I cannot win,
I’m just the product
Of a sin.
A shade of gray,
Yes black and white,
Both darkest day
And brightest night.

Author: authormilligib

Stay-at-home Mom (The most important job I'll ever have) and author, occasional photographer.

Leave a Reply

